//
you're reading...
Australia, Cricket, News, Shaun Tait

>News: Shaun Tait retires from ODIs

>

Australian right arm fast bowler, Shaun Tait has decided to retire from One Day International matches , following Australia’s poor show in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.



Tait has already retired from the test cricket and has said that he will concentrate on being a Twenty20 player rather than trying to balance that with One Day Internationals.

World Cup  wasn’t a nice experience for Shaun Tait as he miserably failed on the slow, flat pitches of the sub-continent. In his last match against India, he bowled seven overs with figures of 1-52 and an average of 7.42. In his 7 world cup matches, he managed to get just 11 wickets.

Tait in a statement said:

“This is not a decision I have taken lightly but I believe it is one that will help me to prolong my cricketing career through the many Twenty20 avenues available.
In  reality, playing all year round for Australia and South Australia is not allowing my body to stand up as I would like and I do not want to be forced into retirement through career-ending injuries. 
Twenty20 cricket allows me to manage my body to a level where I feel I can continue to contribute to the game for some time yet.
My goal was to hopefully help Australia retain the ICC Cricket World Cup. However, with our involvement now finished I feel it is the perfect time to move on in a new direction.”


In his small career of 35 ODIs Tait took 62 wickets at an average of 23.56.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment